//
you're reading...
V-Burnaby

Saffron – decent Indian food in Burnaby


Living with someone who is English means that you MUST eat Indian food a lot.  For some reason, the UK has picked up Indian food (well they call it “curry”) as their nation’s food.  Anyhow, for this reason I eat more than enough share of Indian food and fortunately, I don’t mind it.

There are many many Indian restaurants in town.  Saffron is one of the ones that we keep going back.  I am not sure if it is because we love their food (although I do feel Saffron is one of better Indian restaurants in Burnaby) or we just keep going back there habitually.

Saffron - Papadum with mint chutney

Maybe it is because we always get a few of specific dishes: chicken pakora, mixed grill, and palak chicken (chicken saag, or spinach chicken) and they do a decent job of them.  After visiting and getting delivery from Saffron many times, I can safely say they do these dishes pretty decently (but not great – I prefer chicken saag from Kismat Indian Cuisine in Langley).  One nice thing about them is that they give papadum with mint chutney as service but then this is so minor and a few other places do as well.  I know it’s not much but it still nice touch.  Papadum is papadum, they used to be more thin ones but when we went last time we got more fluffed up (air puffed? ) ones (kind of like texture of shrimp crackers).  Mint chutney is very nice and refreshing although I find it quite salty.

Saffron - Chicken Pakora

I also like Saffron’s lightly battered and seasoned chicken pakora, which goes well with mint chutney.

Their mixed grill is quite pricy but you get some rice and a salad (very basic) with… what else, their mint chutney.  If I didn’t like the mint chutney, I wouldn’t come here.

Chicken saag has always been my favorite.  I always get this at different Indian restaurants.  Saffron’s chicken saag is quite nice and goes well with their saffron rice and/or naan bread.

I have also had lamb/chicken vindaloos – which is alright but prefer saag so I don’t get them any more.  I like their samosas as well but then it’s just too much food.

Saffron - Mixed Grill, Rice, Chicken Saag

I know Saffron’s been Burnaby’s favorite Indian restaurants for sometime but frankly, I think the food is just ok.  I mean good enough that I would recommend it if someone is looking for an Indian restaurant in South Burnaby but I won’t rave about it.

For Indian food, I prefer to go Tandoori King on Fraser, Salam Bombay on Burrard, Maurya on Broadway or Kismat in Langley as mentioned previously (just for chicken saag).

But then… I am not an Indian food connoisseur but just an Asian girl who likes food.  :)  I am sure there are tones of other good places.

(Btw, if anyone knows a place with a fantastic chicken saag and mixed grill kind of dish, please let me know)

REVIEW:

  • Taste: 3.5/5
  • Value:3.5/5
  • Convenience: 4/5
  • Atmosphere: 3/5 (Not much atmosphere for the price of the food)
  • Staff: Could be more attentive
  • Overall: 3/5 Go if you want Indian food around metrotown if not, there are lots of other places.

Saffron Indian Cuisine on Urbanspoon

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Saffron – decent Indian food in Burnaby

  1. the worst indian food i ever had. the naan was half cooked. butter chicken had small bits of chicken and tasted like imitation meat. every item on the all u can eat menu almost made me throwup. not recommending this resurant to anyone i a million years.

    Posted by tony lal | April 24, 2011, 2:45 pm
  2. “Saffron – decent Indian food in Burnaby Lazy City Girl” was a beneficial posting.
    If solely there was even more personal blogs similar to this excellent one on the word wide
    web. Well, thank you for ur time, Teri

    Posted by http://tinyurl.com/primmintz10187 | February 5, 2013, 10:59 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

