//
you're reading...
V-Burnaby

Earls on Kingsway Good food, good crowd… – Hunan Kung Pao Noodles


Many people have certain opinions/ prejudice about franchise restaurants.  I tend to be pretty lenient.  My philosophy is that if they can provide good food with good ambiance at a decent price, why not.  I don’t care too much if the dishes are all cookie-cutter types throughout the whole franchise.  To me that means consistence… and isn’t it why McDonald’s and Starbucks do well?  Because wherever you go, as soon as you walk into these places, you know what you are going to get. 

Sorry I digress.

Earls is one of those places: along with Cactus Club Cafe and Joeys… (I don’t like Moxies and Sammy J‘s too much).

I used to work near Metrotown Metropolis so this is the “Earls” that my coworkers and I go to have a quick pint after a long week.  Staff are quite friendly although not as attentive as I would like.  Food is good… well you get Earls food. 

One of my long time favorite is Hunan Kung Pao noodles.  Lots of veggies and noodles in a yummy sauce.  You can get it with additional meat: chicken or prawns.  I usually do without because it’s enough food without the additional meat and also I don’t want to pay extra.  :p

Earls Hunan Kung Pao

Earls Hunan Kung Pao

I feel that this is one of more lean (i.e. healthy) dishes but still very high calorie and high sodium.  I guess you can’t do too much when you are eating out at places like Earls.

REVIEW:

  • Taste: 3/5
  • Value: 3/5
  • Convenience: 4/5
  • Atmosphere: 4/5
  • Staff: Very friendly but could be more attentive near the bar area
  • Overall: if you want to grab a quick pint, around this area… Earls on Kingsway is probably one of better places you can go.

Cheers!

LCG 

Earl's (Burnaby Kingsway) on Urbanspoon

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Earls on Kingsway Good food, good crowd… – Hunan Kung Pao Noodles

  1. I personally do not like some chain restaurants for exactly the same reasons you mentioned but with a small twist. Whereas in either McD’s you will barely break the $10 barrier per person, that’s not the case in fancier chain restaurants like Cactus, Sammy J and so on. Unless my party has a mix of likes/dislikes, in which case it means I have to go all the way down to the minimum common denominator (read: chain restaurants like this), I would rather spend my hard earned moola in some other restaurant types for that “adventure”.

    Posted by KimHo | February 7, 2011, 11:40 pm
    • Yes some of them (like Cactus – whose price point went off the roof with RF selections – the burger being $15) are not cheap for sure.

      I agree with your last statement. I much prefer to adventure into other independent restaurants and fortunately this city’s got so many of them. 🙂

      LCG

      Posted by Kay | February 8, 2011, 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

