//
you're reading...
V-Burnaby

T&T Metrotown for Cheap Lunch – Sticky Rice Wrap


Working at a mall has some merits but after awhile, it’s not that exciting. One can only eat at a mall food court so many times.

I worked at the Metrotown for many years.  And often I went to T&T to get cheap decent lunch.  One of my favorite is sticky rice wrap.  There are a few reasons why this item is more dear to me than others:

  • rice and 4 side dishes – hey, I am asian… I LOVVEEEE rice.
  • convenient packaging lets me wonder around the mall while eating – kinda like a cup of Starbucks
  • cheap – $2.99+tax = $3.35

Yesterday, for the first time in a long while, I was at Metrotown around lunch time.  I walked to T&T and got a rice wrap.  It used to be difficult to order for me because although I am asian, I am not Chinese and I had no idea what my options were as items to be added inside my rice wrap.  Now each item has a short description in English with a number.  So you can order by number.

When you are at the stand, you have to pick which kind of rice you want.  White, or black.  Or you go half half.  I usually go for black rice.

And you get to add 4 items.  I usually add dried pork, pickled radishes, and two others depending on what I want for that day.  Yesterday, I added marinated hard-boiled eggs and marinated bean curds. 

So here is what it looks like after one bite.

Here is after a few bites…. yeah… it doesn’t look that appetizing but it tastes pretty good.  🙂

Anyways, if you need to grab a quick cheap lunch, T&T will give you more options than most other places.

REVIEW:

  • Taste: 3/5
  • Value: 4.5/5
  • Convenience: 4/5
  • Atmosphere: N/A (you don’t go to T&T for atmosphere
  • Staff: Very efficient
  • Overall: recommended for a quick bite

T & T Supermarket (Metrotown) on Urbanspoon

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

